The "Tivo is coming to Charter Cable" Thread

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by Jayboy3, Feb 7, 2011.

1. Feb 7, 2011 #1 of 35
    Jayboy3

Jayboy3 Member

Jan 2, 2010

Advertisements

I searched, and didn't see a thread on this. Tivo inked a deal with Charter Cable over a week ago. The Tivo Premiere (customized for CHarter Cable) will become the set top box for Charter Cable.

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2376194,00.asp

Post your thoughts, hopes, dreams, and news about the Charter box here!

I've been using a Tivo HD with CableCard on Charter for a couple of years to great success, but I'm glad to see it become the "official" DVR. I'll wait and upgrade to a Premier then, and presumably there will customized menus for on-demand and pay-per-view, things like that.

I'm excited. I can't get HD DirecTV, so this is my chance to remain a Tivo customer.

2. Feb 7, 2011 #2 of 35
    NotVeryWitty

NotVeryWitty Too Big to Fail

Oct 3, 2003
    Central Mass.
    One thing not mentioned here is whether you will still need tuning adapters, or if Tivo will implement some sort of IP control of SDV, like they have for some other MSO's.

3. Feb 7, 2011 #3 of 35
    klrobinson999

klrobinson999 New Member

Aug 26, 2010
    Hopefully all of the other cable companies will follow suit! Are you listening Cox, Comcast, and Time Warner?????

4. Feb 7, 2011 #4 of 35
    crxssi

crxssi Veteran TiVo User

Apr 5, 2010
    Well, Cox has already signed an agreement of some sort to at least offer PPV and Ondemand plus more "officially" support the TiVo. I doubt it will include SDV without a TA :( But there is still no news as to where they stand with it.

I know Cox will probably never replace their own DVR's with TiVo boxes; it just goes against the way they like to operate.

5. Claire199

Claire199 New Member

Dec 3, 2010

Advertisements