TE3 vs TE4 - why do you like/dislike one vs the other?

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by barnabas1969, Sep 12, 2019.

1. barnabas1969

barnabas1969 Member

Aug 22, 2013
    I've never used Tivo before. I've had Windows 7 Media center as my DVR since 2011. I just decided to go to Tivo and my Bolt Vox (cable card) and Mini Vox's will arrive on Saturday.

Other than the inability to transfer shows between DVR's, what do people dislike so much about TE4?

Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  2. krkaufman

krkaufman TDL shepherd

Nov 25, 2003
    A work-in-progress list of TE4/TE3 pros and cons, based on feedback posted and past discussion threads ....

TE4/Hydra (21.*)
    • - Pre-roll Ads: A new differentiator for many is the introduction of pre-roll ads to the TE4 experience; that is, TiVo inserting an Internet-streamed, skippable ad prior to the recorded content that’s been selected for playback. At present, TiVo has no plans to bring this “feature” to TE3, which has been in “maintenance mode” (bug fixes only) for nearly 2 years. (see this thread for more info, and copious gnashing of teeth)
    • - Live Guide: The absence of the Live Guide as a channel guide viewing option, leaving only the Grid Guide, is considered by many to be a showstopper for TE4 adoption.
    • - Suggestions: The original Thumbs ratings-based Suggestions algorithm has been discarded in TE4, in favor of some alternate algorithm, resulting in less satisfactory results; even the ability to rate programs using the Thumbs buttons has been removed from TE4.