Tablet choice for streaming from my Bolt ..

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by xberk, Mar 8, 2019.

1. Mar 8, 2019 #1 of 23
    xberk

xberk Active Member

Dec 3, 2011

Advertisements

I'm new to the world of Streaming "out of the home" .. I got the Tivo App up and running on an old iPad, set it up at my house picking my new Bolt from the list, took it over to my neighbor's and got it to work there too .. now I want to buy a more updated Tablet to use on trips but not spend too much .. Will this Amazon Fire 8 HD be ok? Opinions anyone?

Amazon Fire HD 8

2. Mar 8, 2019 #2 of 23
    lparsons21

lparsons21 Active Member

Feb 17, 2015
    The Fire HD 8 is fairly sluggish and doesn’t come with the Google Play Store though that can be added. It is so cheap for a reason.
    It is designed to do Amazon stuff and just a little more. I have played Amazon Prime streams on it and it ok for that so I suspect it might be good enough once you got a stream going. I’ll kick mine up and do a quick check with in home streaming from TiVo which should be a decent test as I have very good up and down speed.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

3. Mar 8, 2019 #3 of 23
    lparsons21

lparsons21 Active Member

Feb 17, 2015
    Ok. Found that there is a TiVo app in the Amazon App Store. Installed it and it does work fine in home so it should work fine out of home as long as your internet up speed is good enough. Note that the app is sluggish getting things going, but once started the streaming is fine.

jrtroo and Mikeguy like this.
  4. Mar 8, 2019 #4 of 23
    tomhorsley

tomhorsley Well-Known Member

Jul 22, 2010