Suggestions interfering with watching live TV

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by mw2, Oct 8, 2007.

1. mw2

mw2 New Member

Oct 8, 2007

Advertisements

I have a new Tivo HD, (and I am new to Tivo) and am having the following problem:

1. Tivo is recording a "Tivo Suggestion" with one of the tuners
    2. I am watching live tv with the other tuner
    3. A recording that I scheduled is about to start
    4. I get a message on the screen, alerting me to the recording that is about to start, and giving me two options: 1) cancel the recording that I scheduled or 2) stop watching the live show that I am watching

The real issue is that one of the tuners is busy recording a suggestion that I will probably never watch, but it doesn't give me the option of canceling that recording. The only solution I have found is to stop watching the live TV that I am watching, go to "Now Playing", find out what suggestion is being recorded, cancel it, and go back to watching my live TV.

There has got to be a better way. Am I doing something wrong? Is this a Tivo SW issue? This has happened to me at least 3 times in the last week. I'd prefer not to have to turn off Tivo suggestions.

2. ZikZak

ZikZak Neurostim Addict

Aug 12, 2002
    Arecibo, PR
    Record everything you watch, including watching live (why are you doing that anyway?). If you are recording it, the suggestion will be canceled for the other requested recording.

You have found one way that the tivo software kind of assumes that you're not going to be doing much serious live TV watching.

3. Ruth

Ruth Well-Known Member

Jul 31, 2001
    Anchorage,...
    You don't ever have to manually cancel a suggestion. In that situation, if you switch to the tuner recording the suggestion and change the channel to the one you want, it will change the channel, automatically cancel the suggestion, and delete the partial suggestion.