Stream Tivo To PC running an Android VM Like VirtualBox

Discussion in 'TiVo Stream' started by KennethW, Jan 31, 2015.

1. KennethW

KennethW Member

Dec 15, 2003

Advertisements

I am sure this has already been discussed here but I could not find it. I have a home office and would like to be able to stream tivo to my office pc.

Would it be possible to stream tivo to a pc running a VM of Android running the Tivo App. I am not an Android expert or Android developer but am a windows programmer. It seems possible to me.

Has anyone tried this and what was their experience ?

Thanks,
    Ken

2. KennethW

KennethW Member

Dec 15, 2003
    <crickets>....<crickets>.....

I guess since there have been no responses. You are all furiously working on building your Android VMs to stream your Tivo Roamios to your PCs.

Seriously. No thoughts or comments on this idea ?

I am not a Tivo or Android expert and am sure there is some technical reason it cannot be done.

Just curious if that was the case or if it had been tried or not.

Thanks
    Ken

3. tomhorsley

tomhorsley Well-Known Member

Jul 22, 2010
    Well, since android VMs don't look like "known" hardware devices, I'd expect the tivo app to reject running because of "unauthorized changes". Also, I suspect only one of the intel based android images could possibly run fast enough to do reasonable performance video, and I'm not sure the tivo app is willing to run on intel hardware at all. All in all, the odds of success don't seem to make it worth even making the attempt unless you are really bored and desperate for something to experiment on :).

4. Arcady

Arcady Stargate Fan

Oct 14, 2004
    Philadelphia...
    I'm not sure why you would want to emulate a touchscreen device on a PC to stream video from a TiVo. Why not get something like a Slingbox, which is designed to do exactly what you want?

5. Feb 1, 2015 #5 of 21
    kdmorse

kdmorse Well-Known Member TCF Club

Jan 29, 2001
    Germantown, MD

Advertisements