Standby or Turn off? Total Noob Question

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by ccerts, Mar 19, 2011.

1. ccerts

ccerts New Member

Mar 18, 2011

Advertisements

Since I've had the Tivo Premiere for less than 24 hours, one button seems to be missing to me. THE OFF BUTTON.

Am I supposed to always leave it on? Even when I'm sleeping. Or should I navigate the odd menu system and put it into standby.

Sorry for the dumb question. Thanks for any response.

2. orangeboy

orangeboy yes, I AM orangeboy!

Apr 19, 2004
    East Moline, IL
    Yes, there's no off button. The TiVo is constantly recording: either 30 minute buffers, or scheduled recordings. There is only one advantage for using standby that I know of: NOT changing the channel during Emergency Alert System testing.

3. rabinny

rabinny New Member

Feb 11, 2011
    Jersey Shore
    I believe the "no off button" is very odd and I'm surprised that people on here don't agree. When I am not using my TiVo I have no need for it to buffer programs that I'm not watching. Isn't that kind of a waste of the hard drive life? I record maybe 6 shows a week. I don't need it to constantly be in the process of recording something. My cable DVR always had a power button. I would turn it off at night and the hard drive would stop spinning but it would still record something I had scheduled. This is the equivalent of putting a DVD on and setting it for endless repeat...forever. Let's see how long that DVD player lasts. :cool:

4. ct1

ct1 Well-Known Member TCF Club

Jun 27, 2003
    Maryland
    If it notices a program on in the middle of the night that it thinks you might like (i.e. it is like other programs you have recorded or marked with thumbs up) it will record it for you.

With regard to hard drive life, the most stress occurs when it goes from a cold stop to a full up working. The fewer times you give it that stress, the better. Keeping it running all the time will limit that stress.

5. David Platt