Spotify woes (No sound)

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by netw0rks, Nov 17, 2015.

1. netw0rks

netw0rks New Member

Sep 18, 2013
    I was having problems with no sound in the Spotify app. On a hunch, I decided to disable Dolby in the main system settings (back to PCM) and that worked. This is obviously not good, as I lose Dolby decoding on everything else.

I assume this is the same for everyone, but I find it odd that other apps still work. Perhaps just a problem with the app. :mad::thumbsdown:

2. aaronwt

aaronwt UHD Addict

Jan 31, 2002
    Northern...
    I can't use Spotify on the Bolt. It says I need a premium account to use it.

I have no problem with Pandora.

Last edited: Nov 17, 2015
  3. Dec 4, 2015 #3 of 13
    Trunk_Monkey

Trunk_Monkey New Member

Dec 4, 2015
    I'm new to Tivo and just hooked it up last night. It was mostly trouble-free, including setting up and logging into apps like Netflix, Amazon Prime, and Spotify.

However, just like you, my Spotify has no sound. I didn't try switching to PCM, though. Oddly enough, while I was perplexed with having no audio, I started a song over from the beginning and had audio for the full song. When it was over and a new song started, it went back to no audio.

Restarting songs never worked again. I'm back to silence in Spotify. Hoping it is just a bug that can be fixed in the app.

TM

4. Dec 4, 2015 #4 of 13
    netw0rks

netw0rks New Member

Sep 18, 2013
    It's definitely a bug. Works every time with PCM. They just need to fix the app to send stereo over DD.

5. Dec 7, 2015 #5 of 13
    Bonanzaair

Bonanzaair New Member

Aug 25, 2006
    If I run Spotify, the system will freeze and reboot within ten songs.

Bonanza

6. mcygan13

mcygan13 New Member

Dec 16, 2015
    I had the same problem with no audio on Spotify. I had my optical from TiVo directly to my soundbar. When i re-wired and ran the audio through HDMI to TV, then optical from TV to soundbar... viola! Hope this helps.