Sony SAT T60 Failure...

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by spicolte, Sep 9, 2007.

1. Sep 9, 2007 #1 of 14
    spicolte

spicolte New Member

Sep 8, 2007
    San...
    I am a newbie to your site. I have done much searching concerning my Sony Sat T60 box, but have been unable to find specific information to my problem. Here is my background with my receiver box:

I own a Sony Sat-T60 manufactured in July 2002. My original Sat T60 was purchased in late 1999 or early 2000 with my Direct TV service, however I had numerous problems with that unit, and it was eventually replaced under warranty. The next unit followed the same path, until it was replaced with this current unit. Each time, the unit stopped functioning. Basically, it died. It started by not letting me access recorded shows, and then not letting me view channels on Direct TV. Eventually, it did nothing, and showed nothing.

This particular unit has now gone dead. The "green light" turns on when I hit the power button, but that is the extent of what it does. The TV screen is black, and no input can be given to the box.

I just discoved the Tivo community page, and the link to the Hinsdale page. It appears from what I read on this site and the Hinsdale page that replacing the hard drive is all I need to bring this receiver back to life. From what I have described, would
    folks here concur? I sent an e-mai lto the Hinsdale folks, but based on what I wrote to them, they cannot confirm that replacing my hard drive will correct my problem. I figure you all are the experts, so I figured I'd better return to you and ask for help.