Should I buy an Ipad to watch Tivo Movies?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by Bill Freyfogle, Apr 7, 2011.

1. Apr 7, 2011 #1 of 35
    Bill Freyfogle

Bill Freyfogle New Member

Apr 29, 2002
    Bellevue, WA
    I have a Series III Tivo (also an original Series 1 from Feb 2001 that still works via the telephone line!). I was thinking of buying a new Ipad 2 and loading movies I recorded from my Tivo onto it. How well does it work? Do they come out in Hi Def?
    Thanks!
    Bill

P.S. I am not very tech savvy, sorry!

2. Apr 7, 2011 #2 of 35
    mattack

mattack Well-Known Member

Apr 9, 2001
    sunnyvale
    AFAIK, you would have to transcode movies to play on the iPad.. I think that's slow.. (but e.g. you could have your computer do it while you weren't using it).

Supposedly the Tivo iPad app will eventually have some support for series 3, but probably not streaming.

3. mr.unnatural

mr.unnatural Well-Known Member

Feb 2, 2006
    Ellicott...
    Sure, if you like watching movies on an Etch-a-Sketch screen. Hi-Def is completely irrelevant on such a small screen. You'd never be able to see any difference between standard def and hi-def on an iPad. In fact, standard def is overkill for an iPad.

It's fine if you do a lot of air travel and don't want to watch the in-flight movie. It may seem cool, but it's no way to watch a movie. Movies are meant to be enjoyed on the largest screen possible, not some dinky little display.

The real question is, why are you asking us? If you like watching movies on a small screen then spend your money any way you like. Otherwise you'll get answers you may not want to hear from someone as opinionated as I am on the subject.;)

4. ZeoTiVo

ZeoTiVo I can't explain

Jan 2, 2004
    pay 25 bucks for TiVo desktop plus and it will save movies in H264 you can watch on an iPad original or iPad 2 - it will make little difference which one.

Sometimes Mr. Unnatural you just do not need that big screen experience