Sharing TIVO HD w multiple tvs via hdmi?

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by jimbob111, Apr 2, 2009.

1. Apr 2, 2009 #1 of 17
    jimbob111

jimbob111 New Member

Apr 6, 2004
    Hinsdale, IL

Advertisements

I have a Tivo HD in the master bedroom and was wanting to share the tivo with a lcd in the master bathroom. i purchased

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10113&cs_id=1011303&p_id=2522&seq=1&format=2

and the tivo says an error message about hdcp. anyone have a solution for me? thanks! jay

2. Apr 2, 2009 #2 of 17
    bkdtv

bkdtv New Member

Jan 9, 2003
    DC Metro Area
    Unfortunately, that passive splitter is not going to do what you want for HDCP encrypted signals.

You would need one of Monoprice's active/powered splitters. Some have complained that they only get video, and not audio, with some of Monoprice's HDMI switchers. This one specifically claims that it passes both audio and video.

3. Apr 2, 2009 #3 of 17
    jimbob111

jimbob111 New Member

Apr 6, 2004
    Hinsdale, IL
    bkdtv, you are the man. thanks for your help. jay

4. Apr 2, 2009 #4 of 17
    Johnwashere

Johnwashere Member

Sep 17, 2005
    Columbus, Ohio
    Hmm I havent really thought about doing this. Maybe Il get this, an RF remote setup, and 75 foot hdmi cable and run the tivo from my family room to bed room without having to rent a TW box.. :)

5. Apr 7, 2009 #5 of 17

9300170 Member

Feb 20, 2003
    Tempe, AZ

Advertisements

I've been using the powered monoprice hdmi splitter for years. It works great, although it does need a "reboot" every once in a while.

6. Apr 7, 2009 #6 of 17
    HDTivoDesire

HDTivoDesire Member

Apr 5, 2003
    Plano, TX
    I bought a monoprice 4-way powered HDMI splitter and a 50 foot HDMI cable. My setup doesn't work well at all. :(