series2 dual tuner and OTA?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by CorinaB, Sep 13, 2007.

1. CorinaB

CorinaB New Member

Sep 13, 2007

Advertisements

I am new to TiVo, and haven't actually bought my TiVo yet. I currently have a Comcast box with DVR, but I'd like to get rid of cable altogether if possible. So, I am looking to replace the Comcast DVR with a Series2 dual tuner.

For now, I plan to downgrade my cable to just get the local stations, but I hope to figure out a way to get good reception without cable (OTA) later. If I do that, will I still be able to use the TiVo? And will I still be able to use both tuners?

2. Jonathan_S

Jonathan_S Well-Known Member

Oct 23, 2001
    Northern...
    To work around an FCC requirements the Series 2 Dual Tuner is blocked from tuner OTA channels. It can only tune analog cable and/or control 1 cable box.

(The enable OTA tuning, they would have had to include an ATSC digital hi-def tuner, which likey would have significantly raised the cost)

3. CorinaB

CorinaB New Member

Sep 13, 2007
    Thanks Jonathan! That's too bad, but it's good to know before I buy.

4. steve614

steve614 what ru lookin at?

May 1, 2006
    Dallas, TX
    JMO, If I were looking to get a new Tivo now, I would get the new Tivo HD and future proof myself.

If I had the $$$ I'd go ahead and get the S3. :D

5. classicsat

classicsat Astute User

Feb 18, 2004
    Ontario Canada.

Advertisements

Yep, The TiVoHD is the one to consider, since it will tune OTA just fine.

6. gastrof

gastrof Hubcaps r in fashion

Oct 31, 2003
    Potato and pen.
    There's also been talk (apparently) of a standard def TiVo that would be similar to the TiVoHD. ;)

Philips currently has a DVR/DVDrecorder that tunes and records both analog and digital*, but only in standard def, even being able to create DVDs off the hard drive recordings.

It'd be a little strange if TiVo didn't produce their own version of such a machine, even if without the DVD burner.