Series 3 Blues

Discussion in 'TiVo Series3 HDTV DVRs' started by frothymargarita, Jan 19, 2009.

1. frothymargarita

frothymargarita New Member

Jan 19, 2009

Advertisements

I am a Tivo newbie, but I can find my way around a computer pretty well. Setting up my Series 3 with Tivo Support and Time Warner NY has been 3 days of h---. In addition to the cable cards (I ordered 2 M cards on the day I ordered the Series 3) I find that I need a Tuning adapter (which may or may not be available) for this SDV issue. My past experience with TW Techs does not leave me hopeful that setting this up will go smoothly.

My question is should I exchange my Series 3 for a dual tuner Series 2? I do not have an HD tv and do not plan to buy one in the near future. I want all the stations that I receive through my digital time warner box (not dvr I won't pay them for that). One should think that this stuff should work fairly easily by now, but after days on the internet and reading these forums who would have guessed so many problems remain!:( Looking forward to seeing your suggestions.

2. TexasGrillChef

TexasGrillChef New Member

Sep 15, 2006
    First Question. What Time Warner Cable (TWC) area are you in?

The reason I ask this. Is that some areas of TWC will be discontinuing all forms of ANALOG cable service by the end of 2010. When this happens, A TiVo Series 2 Dual Tuner DVR won't be able to use TWC unless you get their Box, & in that case makes having a TiVo a moot point anyways.

In addition. A Series 2 Dual Tuner TiVo won't be able to use OTA after February 17th, 2009 either. A TiVo HD with its Digital OTA tuner will be able to continue OTA service after 2-17-09. TiVo HD TiVo's will work with a NON-HDTV without any problem.