series 2 not recognizing tivo wireless adaptor

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by dean9000, Oct 8, 2007.

1. dean9000

dean9000 New Member

Oct 3, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Well I had to install a new hard drive last week and everything with it seems fine.... it even connected initially and downloaded guide information but.....

It now appears to be stuck at version 7.2.0.... what's worse is that my tivo wireless g network adaptor no longer connects to my network.... i know that my wireless network hasn't changed and is fine(it worked great on the old drive)....it just won't recognize my wireless adaptor any more....(I already tried the unplug usb and power and plug back in to no avail)

should i buy a different one and try it? Anybody have similar problem? Is it because my version isn't new enough? If so how can I get my version up to speed without a connection???

Help please....I have been working with computers for 15 years and this is getting ridiculous.....Thanks in advance

2. Arcady

Arcady Stargate Fan

Oct 14, 2004
    Philadelphia...
    The TiVo adapter requires version 7.2.1 or later. Unfortunately, you can't get it to work until you get the TiVo to update in some other way (phone, wired ethernet, another brand of wireless adapter.)

3. dean9000

dean9000 New Member

Oct 3, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    Thanks for that confirmation arcady. I ran across that last night but I have so many ideas i wasn't sure what to do..... what sucks is that i have digital phone service (time warner) and it doesn't finish the update over the phone line for some reason.... i am certain it's the time warner service as they mentioned fax machines don't always work on their lines either....

Here's what's odd.... i did get it to connect initially after the instant cake bake so....I think I have 2 options....

1. take my tivo on the road and find somebody with an analog phone line and let it update the software version....