Series 1 with lifetime subscription

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by sasjzl, Jan 21, 2012.

1. sasjzl

sasjzl New Member

Jan 16, 2012
    Folks, I am brand new to TiVo and have stumbled across a Series 1 Sony SVR-2000 with a lifetime subscription.

First issue is that I do not have a land phone line and I see no way to get this on my LAN, wireless or not. If there is any way to do that I would love to know.
    If I take this over to my neighbors house and hook it up to a phone line I assume I will be able to run through the setup but will I have to do that every 30 days to be able to get program information?

Second issue I will keep short because if there is no answer for the first I am Dead In Water. IF I can get through the setup, can I use this with my Zenith
    DTT 901 TV converter box to change channels with an IR blaster or can I fool the Tivo into thinking that this is a cable box of some sort. I think I remember seeing that this Converter box can work as if it was a specific kind to cable box.

Thanks very much,
    Jim Lee

2. lillevig

lillevig Cold in East Iowa

Dec 6, 2010
    Marion, Iowa
    I'm only familiar with the Philips S1 version but I suspect there are some similarities that might impact your situation. First, the Program Guide data is good for, at most, 14 days, not 30. The IR blaster would likely work if you can find the correct code in the Tivo list. Maybe someone who has that converter box will know if there is a code that works. Now for getting updates. I think that I read somewhere that the Turbonet card will work with any S1 unit. I know it works for the Philips units. It plugs into the maintenance connector on the motherboard and provides an ethernet connection. You need to give the Tivo a dialing prefix of ,#401 for it to work. The other possible method is to use the serial port on the Tivo to do PPP with your computer. Hopefully someone with more direct experience with the Sony will have answers as well.

3. unitron