Save to VCR or DVD??

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by misterdk, Dec 30, 2005.

1. misterdk

misterdk New Member

Dec 30, 2005

Advertisements

My first post here. I've been using my DirecTV Tivo for about 3 years and love it. Just got my new Hughes HR10-250 HDDVR. I used to be a frequent user of the "save to vcr" feature where I would record programs onto the HD and then save them to VCR and share the tapes with friends. Now, into the 21st century. Is there a way to get the programming that I've recorded on the Tivo HD out of the box in a format where I can burn the program to dvd instead of "save to vcr"? Thanks for all comments and ideas.

2. Arcady

Arcady Stargate Fan

Oct 14, 2004
    Philadelphia...
    Buy a DVD recorder and connect it to the TiVo. Use it the same as a VCR.

3. Guindalf

Guindalf Now with added dalf

Jun 13, 2001
    To answer your question.... No, you have to use the Save to VCR option. One show at a time.

4. JimSpence

JimSpence Just hangin'

Sep 19, 2001
    Binghamton, NY
    Well, you don't have to use the Save To VCR function, but it is still one show at a time.

5. RMSko

RMSko Active Member

Sep 4, 2001
    Westfield,...

Advertisements

Actually, don't you just hook up the DVD Recorder to the TiVo the same as a VCR and then use the "Save to VCR" function, but instead of saving it to a VCR, you save it to the DVD Recorder, i.e., aren't you still using the "Save to VCR" function on the TiVo?

6. JimSpence

JimSpence Just hangin'

Sep 19, 2001
    Binghamton, NY
    I knew that my reply would get a response. :) Yes, the DVD recorder is connected the same as a VCR, but you can just play the program as you normally would. The Save function just disables some remote functions so you don't mess up the recording and it displays a description of the show before the playback starts.

7. misterdk

misterdk New Member

Dec 30, 2005