SAppered 240 TiVo Questions

Discussion in 'TiVo Underground' started by Rushingjs, Jul 28, 2007.

1. Rushingjs

Rushingjs New Member

Jan 14, 2007

Advertisements

I could be missing something here, as I'm new to all of this, but I'm trying to get an understanding on a few points.

1) It is to my understanding that TiVo has a self-check system that examines the file system and deletes any files that shouldn't be there.

2) When you "hack" your TiVo, you kill the process that does this examination, and therefore are allowed to modify the files without them getting deleted by the TiVo.

The reason I ask, is that I recently did use the SApper to try and hack my tivo. I also have tried (to some extent) to add some wired usb adapter drivers (Linksys USB200M v2 or 2.1, as I'm not exactly sure), but when I did, I rebooted the drive and looked at the file system, and all of the files that I had put on the drive were gone.

Can anybody point me in the right direction?

2. Da Goon

Da Goon Registered Abuser

Oct 22, 2006
    1) Correct.
    2) Also, correct. That's the basic hack that MUST be accomplished.

How did you look at the filesystem? By pulling the drive and mounting it in an pc?? If so be sure to mount the correct/active partition. If you checked over bash, then bash running is simply enough proof that you successfully disabled the initrd check.

3. Rushingjs

Rushingjs New Member

Jan 14, 2007
    I looked at the file system through a pc. what partition should i be looking for? Also, I have a null serial cable... with this work to try and get a bash, or do I need a special cable? Sorry about the primitive questions, but I am trying to learn as much as I can. I'll pull the drive agian and see if I cant look at a different partition. If I'm correct, they are located in the /dev directory?

Thank you for your help!

4. Da Goon

Da Goon Registered Abuser

Oct 22, 2006