S3 vs Premiere question

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by global_dev, Apr 7, 2010.

1. Apr 7, 2010 #1 of 16
    global_dev

global_dev Member

Mar 15, 2010
    Northern VA

Advertisements

I am new to TiVo, but not new to DVRs (PC based or standalone), standalone streamers, av servers, PC tuners (networked/local), transcoding, etc.

I have 2 S3s with FIOS since 10 days ago.

I have exhausted myself reading about TiVo S2, HD, S3, & S4 units pros and cons on this forum and blogs and have not really come to a conclusion if the Premiere is or is not worth it compared to the S3. The wife is onboard with whatever I do.

I need 2 units total (FIOS moto QIP7000 series + home media, Moxi don't seem to fit, since i want to be able to initiate record from a non-dvr unit and initiate via laptop/phone web is not viable.

I like the additionally hardware potential capabilities of the S4, single m-card, quicker MRV, but a ~$200 hundred increase for 750Gb extra (and THX) is quite a bit compared to a relatively easy drive swap of the S3. I was excited about the S3 OLED, but honestly its too hard to see the clock from 10 feet away even on "bright", let alone the recording status.

It doesn't seem black/white in this case and a lot of the posts have been relatively negative, but I have no real experience base. The S3 seems decently quick, but sometimes is slow to pull up channel blocks in the guide or get back to live tv from setting a recording.

Anyone willing to tell me that the S3 cheaper storage, extra mcard rentals, and current feature set offsets the Premiere?

2. Apr 7, 2010 #2 of 16
    lessd

lessd Well-Known Member

Jan 23, 2005
    CT
    The TiVo-HD can use the same single M cable card as the new Series 4 so that should not be any issue for you.
    The Series 3 original does require two cable cards and does give the great front panel