S3 Hookup to Home Theater system?

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by headless chicken, Aug 24, 2006.

1. headless chicken

headless chicken Member

Oct 8, 2004

Advertisements

Though I've been a loyal TiVo subscriber for 2 years, I've decided to try out my cable company's DVR service since it's got HD recording capability, unlike TiVo at the moment. However, when S3 comes around, I do plan on going back to TiVo if the price is right. However...I have some concerns regarding the hookup.

I've purchased a Panasonic 42" plasma (TH-42PX60U) that I'd like to connect to a home theater system. Because I spent most of my budget on the TV and it's accompanying stand, I don't have much money left for a home theater system. Thus, I've opted for a Home Theater In a Box, or HTIB. The Panasonic HTIBs don't have any digital inputs, despite having HDMI. Since I'm a newbie to all this, does that mean I can't enjoy Dolby Digital from my TV shows? Also, if I were to hookup the display to a S3 TiVo with HDMI (I noticed the S3 have one HDMI input), how would I carry the signal to my Panasonic SC-HT740 which doesn't have any digital inputs? I'd be converting the signal to analog... How exactly are these S3s meant to be hooked up in the grand scheme of a HDTV and HT?

If anyone has any knowledge or experience with HTIBs, I'd appreciate some advice. I have yet to pick up my HT system, so I may opt for another one if I can find what I'm looking for under $500. Your help would be greatly appreciated.

2. mallpig

mallpig New Member

Aug 19, 2004
    Derry, NH
    I wouldn't buy a HTIB without at least 1 digital audio input. I own an Onkyo HTIB that I picked up for less that $300.

3. headless chicken

headless chicken Member

Oct 8, 2004
    I seem to be missing the point. Isn't HDMI a digital input, with audio and video consolidated into one cable?

4. kturcotte

kturcotte Active Member

Dec 8, 2002
    Portland, ME