Roamio OTA - V53 error

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by darrellb, May 2, 2020.

1. darrellb

darrellb New Member

May 2, 2020
    All,
    Relative TiVo newbie here -- the Roamio OTA has been my first and only TiVo device. We went with it at the urging of my father in-law when we decided to cut the cable cord...and it's been an experience.

Recently (2-3 months ago) - we started getting V53 errors on a couple of channels, went through all the steps as directed and walked through everything with TiVo support. Their final statement was it was our antenna's fault (even though we were getting signal fine when plugged directly into a TV). We replaced the antenna and all was good again for a while until this past week. We've started getting the same errors (V53) on the same channels as before. I know it's not our antenna (again) -- and what makes this situation particularly strange -- we did a channel re-scan (our local Fox station did something and had let folks know that a rescan may be necessary) and for 12-18 hours our 2 "trouble stations" came in clearly again. Since that time -- during which I got cocky and canceled our antenna guy, who was coming out to confirm it wasn't an antenna issue -- we've lost our 2 "trouble stations" again.

I'm not overly well-versed in the TV world, but am moderately proficient in technology (ex: I've built my own PCs for years) -- can someone who is more capable offer any advice/assistance? Everything I've seen online and have tried has not helped.

Since it may be relevant -- we are located in the Greensboro/Winston-Salem (NC) market -- although we can occasionally get stations from Raleigh and/or Charlotte and the 2 problem channels are our local NBC channel (12-1) and CW channel (20-1). The callsigns are WXII (NBC station) and WCWG (CW station). From the research that I did, it looks like these channels share a tower/frequency (not sure of the appropriate name).