Roamio - Dolby Sound Issues

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by gt77, Dec 22, 2014.

1. gt77

gt77 New Member

Dec 22, 2014
    Newbie here.

Hello. Hoping someone can help! I recently upgraded from a Series 3 Tivo to a Roamio Plus. The Tivo is connected via HDMI and Optical to my Amplifier (Yamaha). I simply removed the connections from the old Tivo, and plugged them into the Roamio....

Now, when I un-pause any roamio recordings or live TV, I get this incredibly loud static / scratchy noise through the Amplifier. I can see that when TV is paused, the AMP is receiving PCM (2 channel from Tivo), when I un-pause it changes to 5ch audio, which is when the terrible noise occurs. I never had this problem on the old Series3.

I tried Tivo support, and they will only troubleshoot anything that connects to a TV only. Also, I don't want to buy a new AMP that supports Audio passthrough on HDMI. (apparently Tivo will do Dolby Digital over HDMI, but I can't confirm this).. The other option is to go HDMI to TV, then optical from TV to AMP, but I'm 99% sure that the TV doesn't support 5ch Audio passthrough from HDMI to Optical....

The short of it is, I think there's a problem with the Roamio, and Tivo wont even attempt to help.

any thoughts? thanks!

2. lgnad

lgnad Pantless Mofo

Feb 14, 2013
    Massachusetts
    Why do you have both connections? Does your receiver not accept audio over HDMI and only pass it through? Only HDMI should be needed to get Dolby digital. This would at least simplify your troubleshooting.

3. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...