Roamia Pro (2015) seems to be dead. Any suggestions?

Discussion in 'TiVo Roamio DVRs' started by sbachman, Dec 26, 2018.

Tags:
  1. sbachman

sbachman New Member

Dec 26, 2018

Advertisements

Hi. I'm new to TiVo and to this forum, but I've read quite a bit of it in the past week! I appreciate any help or insights y'all can provide.

I wanted to stop paying for Comcast boxes and didn't really like their X1 interface, so last week I bought a used 2015 Roamio Pro and 2 Minis with "All-in Service." I had a ton of trouble getting the CableCARD to work, but after hours on the phone with both Comcast and TiVo tech support, it finally worked on Sunday!

Then the main box died on Monday...

My first indication that something was wrong was that the remotes only seemed to work intermittently on one of the Minis. I thought maybe I needed to pair it for RF, but it wouldn't go into pairing mode. So I went to the main box and saw the same symptoms there. I remembered that I had plugged in one of the USB dongle gadgets for a voice remote that came with the purchase. Without thinking, I pulled it out of the Roamio... without unplugging it from power first.

That might have killed it, or maybe it just finished the job. Anyway, the green power light went dark as soon as I yanked the dongle. I tried rebooting. The light came on, so I thought I was okay at first, but it wouldn't complete boot up.

Here is the consistent sequence:
    0 sec - Apply power to box and green light comes on, with TiVo cartoon guy logo on the screen
    40 sec - Amber light flashes quickly for a few seconds, as green light remains on
    1:00 - Gray startup screen displayed on TV
    2:27 - Signal to TV lost
    2:30 - Green light goes dark

I read about the kickstart diagnostic mode, but since I never got a solid amber light, I couldn't follow the procedure.