Remote Codes for Yamaha RX-V383 Receiver

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by NewAtThisPleaseBeEasy, Sep 18, 2018.

1. NewAtThisPleaseBeEasy

NewAtThisPleaseBeEasy New Member

Sep 18, 2018

Advertisements

All,

First, apologies if this is the wrong place or form, but as the handle suggests, I'm new at this. I have a Tivo Series 4 and a Yamaha RX-V383 A/V Receiver. I'm tried all the remote codes but have been unable to find one that lets me control the A/V Receiver volume, let alone turn it on and off with the TV. I'm stuck using two remotes right now. Short of getting a new, universal remote, is there anything I can do?

Thanks!

2. mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015
    Your programming procedure is probably wrong because the built in Yamaha codes should work fine. On and Off may not be do-able, however, because Yamaha typically uses two separate codes for that, and you've only got one button.

3. NewAtThisPleaseBeEasy

Sep 18, 2018
    I mean, I held tv power and tivo home until solid light came on, put in the four digit code, and tried the mute button in line with these instructions: https://support.tivo.com/articles/Features_Use/How-to-Program-a-Remote-to-Control-a-TV-Stereo

I'm wondering whether it is a hardware issue. I did also have this problem with my previous Sony soundbar, and I do think I was able to get it to work on the soundbar at the very beginning, but at some point it stopped. So now with the Yamaha A/V receiver having a similar problem, maybe something is wrong with my Tivo? Or maybe things are just incompatible?

4. HerronScott

HerronScott Well-Known Member

Jan 1, 2002
    Staunton, VA
    Note that the TiVo itself doesn't have anything to do with the remote codes and signals sent to the receiver. That's all handled by the TiVo remote.

Scott

5. mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015

Advertisements

The posted procedure is for TV, not AV. Follow the onscreen instructions for Set AV Vol and Mute.