Questions from a former MythTV user

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by nichos, Aug 21, 2016.

1. nichos

nichos New Member

Aug 21, 2016
    Hi all, first post here.

I just got a Roamio OTA and have been enjoying it thus far. I've been using MythTV for about 6 years now and had some questions.

There's countless threads on power/sleep, etc, so I get that we shouldn't turn TiVo off (just like MyhtTV) but what "screen' should I leave it on? With myth I would always exit so the tuner isn't in use.

And if I should just leave it on a channel, what happens if it needs to record using all tuners?

Finally, do you guys typically delete things after watching them? Or just let them auto-expire?

Thanks in advance!

2. TiVoSupport_Sarah

TiVoSupport_Sarah TiVo Representative

Mar 30, 2015
    Nichos,

I will answer your questions in order.
    There is no specific "screen" that you need to leave the OTA on. By default the OTA will revert back to LiveTV.
    If the OTA needs to record with all tuners and it is on a different channel, the OTA will change the channel to one of the channels it needs to record.
    Deleting shows that you have watched and no longer want should be deleted for the sake of hard drive space. This will clear of space for future shows and will keep the shows that you want from being deleted.

Does this answer your questions?
    Thank you for your post and questions.

3. jth tv

jth tv Well-Known Member

Nov 15, 2014
    I put my Roamio into standby all the time. It will wake up if it needs to.

4. nichos

nichos New Member

Aug 21, 2016
    It does, thanks for the reply TiVoSupport_Sarah

So while I'm not watching TV, I should just turn the TV itself off and let the tivo sit on some live channel? That means it's recording on all 4 tuners, writing to HD all the time?

5. krkaufman

krkaufman TDL shepherd

Nov 25, 2003