Questions about "Cutting the Cord"

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by michael1248, Nov 4, 2018.

1. Nov 4, 2018 #1 of 16
    michael1248

michael1248 Member

Feb 14, 2002
    I've just about had it with Comcast!

I figure that if I just keep the internet, I can do the following:

> Get an Ooma telephone system (which appears to be working great at a friend's house) for about $6 a month

>Use the OTA on my Roamio here in Denver where the signal strength is pretty decent.

> And then stream everything else.

I am a big NASCAR fan and like to record both the race and the "pre" and "post" race programs. It usually takes me about 3 days to watch a race, so I am looking for a Channel(?) that I could watch all those shows.

Any suggestions on which streaming devices (Roku, a DVD player, etc?) might have what I am looking for?

2. Nov 4, 2018 #2 of 16
    WVZR1

WVZR1 Member

Jul 30, 2008
    The WV...
    Ooma I've no experience with and I considered it myself BUT if there's an Xfinity Mobile Option available in your area I'd first see if the # you have now is 'portable' to Xfinity Mobile. I have an ATT connected cell via Bluetooth to my Panasonic Cordless Phones that works well. Until iOS 12 the 'TEXT Alerts' worked also. I've had no luck getting that aspect working again. I had some issues getting my Comcast VOIP # ported to Xfinity Mobile but it was no problem for ATT. I use very minimum ATT with 'no data' only because I'm interested just TEXT/Voice. Ooma, a neighbor had here and he mentioned it was a very difficult to 'port' out of. He said to avoid it unless no other options. It cost's to 'port' into also I believe.

I have a Roku Ultra I like very much BUT for actual TV I've moved to Layer3TV - I have no OTA options and Layer3TV has given me PQ that I'm very happy with and the DVR is growing on me. It ain't TiVo but the price is actually less than Xfinity would have cost with similar programming.