Premiere and terabytes of TS transfers?

Discussion in 'TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo' started by QuickSkip, Jan 19, 2012.

1. QuickSkip

QuickSkip New Member

Jan 19, 2012
    OK. I've been reading here and that "other" forum, and I think I know where I stand, but I'm also new at this and probably overlooking something.

Used the TiVo Desktop software to do all the transfers up until now; and of course after discovering kmttg/tivodecode I can't strip the TiVo crap off the TS mpegs. (just exits immediately w/o error.)

Using GraphEdit from the Windows SDK, you can see how the TiVo DirectShow Source filter lets stuff play .tivo files but why ffmpeg & VLC can't do anything since they're not using the codecs.

The problem is, the shows have been long ago deleted off the TiVo. I don't see an easy (and open-source) way to do this other than transfer the shows back to the TiVo, and then re-transfer them to the media server as PS streams. Seems crazy redundant.

It's only a problem because I want to convert some of the stuff to put on our portables to watch on the subway, the TS files play perfectly fine in both native Windows and QMEU images. (probably works under wine as long as those two tivo filters are installed, although not tested.)

Is tivodecode under active development? Obviously the capability to properly handle TS files is something everyone would want, and I'm in no hurry now that I've switched it so future transfers come over as PS, so ignoring the issue and waiting is fine too...

I tried using a couple video conversion programs that use DirectShow filters, even Windows Movie Maker, but it doesn't engage the TiVo Media Source filter; only the audio comes through, the video is black.

Anyway, thanks for reading. If you know a GPL (or at least freeware) way to do this, other than re-re-transferring the videos, I'd appreciate the assistance.

Thanks!

2. innocentfreak

innocentfreak Well-Known Member

Aug 25, 2001
    Florida