Premier functional without subscription?

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by audio_inside, Nov 16, 2010.

1. audio_inside

audio_inside New Member

Jun 3, 2003

Advertisements

I've always had a Series 2 w/Lifetime, and so i have no experience with Tivo units that are not currently subscribed with a service agreement.

My question: what functions if any will a Premiere perform without an active service subscription?

I know that I won't be getting Tivo software updates or anything connected with programmed recordings or channel guides.

But, for example, will NetFlix streaming or Amazon VOD still work? Can I transfer files over my home network for playback? Will Cablecard tuning/viewing still work? Can I schedule recordings manually?

If any of these examples are the case then the current $99 offering could make the Premiere a useful alternative to Roku, Boxee or AppleTV even without Tivo service.

2. orangeboy

orangeboy yes, I AM orangeboy!

Apr 19, 2004
    East Moline, IL
    From the TiVo Service Agreement:

3. ewilts

ewilts Who, me?

Feb 26, 2002
    Mounds View, MN
    In short, it's a brick. If you want low-cost Netflix or Amazon VoD streaming, get a Roku box - they work better than a TiVo anyway.

4. audio_inside

audio_inside New Member

Jun 3, 2003
    One reason I was curious is because I noticed that my Series 2 doesn't lose functionality when it loses its network connection. So its Lifetime authorization is embedded in the box and doesn't rely on "phoning home" to the Tivo mothership to stay functional.

I presume then that a Tivo subscribed to a time-based service plan has some sort of time-out period where it finally becomes bricked if it can't re-connect to a license server - anyone know how long that is? (Eg, I've seen references to some sort of 7-day grace period when you first buy the box.)

5. crxssi

crxssi Veteran TiVo User

Apr 5, 2010

Advertisements