Polaroid TV?

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by dylanemcgregor, Feb 16, 2005.

1. dylanemcgregor

dylanemcgregor Well-Known Member

Jan 31, 2003
    Corner of...
    My TV appears to be going out on me, and so I'm looking to buy another one. The problem is I'm a poor college student who moves very frequently, so I don't want a big or expensive TV. I'm pretty much looking for the cheapest 20" CRT TV I can find that has two composite inputs, preferably both of them on the back.

I was in Target today and saw a Polaroid TV that matches that description pretty well, except the 2nd set of inputs are on the side, but I can live with that. It also comes with a seperate DVD player, which I don't want since I have the Humax DVD-R with TiVO.

Anyway, my question is does anyone know if the TiVo has a remote control code for Polaroid TVs? I hear they are manufactured by a Chinese company, but my limited research so far hasn't told me what company.

-Dylan

2. mrpurple

mrpurple body by Guinness

Sep 10, 2002
    Another guy...
    Theres a joke about shaking the TV in here someplace.

Didn't the camera company go out of business? Maybe someone bought the name to try to give their products smae brand name recognition.

3. aadam101

aadam101 Tell me a joke

Jul 14, 2002
    Massachusetts
    They did get bought by another company but they are still very much in business. Their corporate headquarters are in Boston and not much has really changed.

4. classicsat

classicsat Astute User

Feb 18, 2004
    Ontario Canada.
    Chances are it will use some generic Chinese codes.

5. jblake

jblake New Member

Jan 24, 2002
    Birmingham, AL
    I would suggest Funai/Symphonic/Emerson type codes

6. itstrue

itstrue No, really

Dec 20, 2004
    If you go to www.polaroidelectronics.com there is a contact page where you can e-mail them and ask. The company is Petters Consumer Brands so doesn't look like there's any direct connection to Funai.

7. ZeoTiVo