Plex on the TiVo might not be the Stupidest thing Tivo ever did

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by Intheswamp, Jan 5, 2018.

1. Jan 5, 2018 #1 of 27
    Intheswamp

Intheswamp South Alabama

Nov 14, 2017

Advertisements

Ok, I'm a newbie. I'm confused. I don't have as many brain cells as I used to have...when I was twelve, maybe. I "grew up" in the 70's. My wife says I'm "simple minded". When I fart, it's an old fart. Ok. You get the picture...I guess.

And, I think I misunderstood something...

I bought my Roamio OTA this past Black Friday from Tivo. There's lots of Hydra-bashing to read and convince folks to downgrade. The option of downgrading back to pre-Hydra was there when I set the Roamio up but I figured Hydra was the "wave of the future" so I didn't do the downgrade. With Hydra, the biggest issue to me that I read about was not being able to transfer files to the Tivo from my computer. I saw where that feature could be really handy. But, I figured, eventually Tivo would fix this and life would be good. Until then I would stream stuff from apps and watch OTA programs, both live and recorded.

But, being able to watch programs saved on the computer kept appealing to me. I toyed with the idea of downgrading to whatever was before Hydra. Seriously, I'm ok with the menus, the guide, etc.,. Maybe some of these things could be better, but having never experienced the "better" I'm satisfied where I'm at. But, again, it seemed like playing programs from the computer would be nice to be able to do...

Last night I downloaded/installed/whatever Plex server on our home computer. I have things connected with hardwired Ethernet. Our Sony BluRay player has an empty app called "Media Server". I figured, "Hey!! This might connect me to the computer and I can play shows from there!!!". Well, the Sony could see the server but clicking on it brought up a "couldn't communicate" window. No soup for you!!!!!