Please help! My new BOLT's OTA Reception is Terrible

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Me3, Jan 21, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Me3

Me3 New Member

Jan 21, 2018
    I just purchased a new Bolt VOX. My Bolt is having a terrible time picking up a watchable signal from several of my local OTA stations. It appears that the Bolt believes that the signal is low on strength with horizontal bars of picture interspersed between blackness. I wouldn't personally call it pixelization, but then I'm a TiVo nOOb.

My Bolt is connected to an HDTV antenna. I have about 100' of coax cable between the antenna and a two-way splitter that then connects to my Bolt and to a Hauppage TV tuner card on my PC. I've checked all of the connections.

The TV tuners in my PC have no problem picking up any of these channels. The tuners in my LG TV also pull the signals in without issue.

Could I have a bad TiVo? Is this a common problem with the Bolt's OTA tuners? Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to improve this situation?

I really want to love my TiVo. Unfortunately, I'll be returning mine if I can't resolve this problem.

Thanks!

2. JoeKustra

JoeKustra in the other Alabama TCF Club

Dec 7, 2012
    Ashland, PA...
    First, with the remote, hit TiVo, select Menu, select Help/Account & System Info, select Diagnostics. Each tuner has a Signal Strength % and SNR. What do all four tuners have for numbers? Scroll down to see all tuners.

Me3 likes this.
  3. Me3

Me3 New Member

Jan 21, 2018
    Thank you so much for your help!

The offending channel today is currently reading an SNR of 15dB and a Signal Strength of 37%. Perhaps interestingly, all four tuners are listed as being connected to that channel. Each of those tuners reports the same values of SNR=15dB and Signal Strength of 37%.