1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Planning on purchasing Tivo RoamioOTA

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by reber1b, Jan 11, 2018.

1. reber1b

reber1b New Member

Jan 11, 2018
    Mea Culpa: I'm not only new to this site, but I'm also new to Tivo. I've had Directv for 20 years and have finally gotten tired of paying for a couple of hundred channels when I only watch 2. Almost every evening I watch a Foxnews program followed by a news program from a local channel (both DVR'd). After those two, which takes me about 45 minutes, I switch to Netflix which I watch until I turn the TV off for the evening.

My plan, at this point, is to subscribe to "Directv Now" through my Roku to view the Foxnews content, and through an HD OTA antenna for the local channel's news hour. Since I can't envision watching any content live, I have tentatively narrowed my DVR search down to the Tivo Roamio OTA.

From what info I have gathered through Googling and from the PDF manual for the Roamio OTA, I think that model is the best choice for me. The questions I have at this point are as follows:

I'm looking at the Mohu Leaf Glide indoor antenna. I live about 35 miles north of San Diego, CA, and the Mohu Leaf Glide claims to have a 65 mile range. Looking at images of the connector on the antenna, and images of the rear panel of the RoamioOTA, I'm figuring that they're a fit. Can anyone confirm this?

I see lots of Tivo adds that say things like, "Lifetime service subscription". If that is the case with the one I buy, and that service comes with the device, can the Tivo service schedule a mixture of OTA content as well as streaming content? If I am to do manual scheduling, can I schedule a "series" record so that I can do it once and forget it until something changes?