novice idea about fixing hdtivo freezing??

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by tivo5t, May 18, 2008.

1. tivo5t

tivo5t Member

Nov 20, 2004

Advertisements

can anyone tell me if the hdtivo freezing problem could be caused by some kind of charge buildup on the hard drive (spinning all the time)? maybe because of an inadequate grounding of the hardware?

i'm not an expert on this. but if that idea makes any sense, maybe some 'hackers' (i'm not) who are having this freezing problem could check the grounding? make grounding better and see if freeze problem is gone?

in my simple mind, it could then make sense that it occurs after some time (varying degrees of poor ground/charge buildup) , doesn't happen on everones hdtivo, and is temporarily 'cured' by a restart (maybe that removed the charge?).

so the fix would be a proper grounding somehow. or maybe tivo could periodically remove such a charge somehow?

Thanks for any comments.

2. windracer

windracer joined the 10k club

Jan 3, 2003
    St. Pete, FL
    I doubt it. My TiVo HD was fine until it got the 9.3a software.

3. magnus

magnus Tivo User

Nov 12, 2004
    Texas
    Mine is working just fine.

4. tivo5t

tivo5t Member

Nov 20, 2004
    i'd heard that some/many did not have this freeze problem (at least not yet).
    i brought this idea up, because i was trying to think of some way that the 9.3 software itself might NOT be CAUSING the freeze problem, but rather that the 9.3 software somehow made a 'hidden' problem come to life (i.e the 9.3 is somehow more sensitive to some situation which was borderline already).
    if there is a borderline but somewhat variable problem (like a tentative ground(or something like that)), then some HDtivos will have no problem with 9.3, while others will have a problem shown, ranging from slight to awful.
    i appreciate the comments. maybe by looking at the changes that 9.3 brought in some other ideas will pop up.
    thanks...

5. steve614