Noob Telnet Troubles

Discussion in 'TiVo Underground' started by MasterOfPuppets, May 24, 2007.

1. MasterOfPuppets

MasterOfPuppets TCF Bookie

Jul 12, 2005
    East Hell

Advertisements

I just replaced my 40gb HD with a 320gb in my 24004A SA S2 Tivo yesterday.
    I hooked it back up yesterday, verified the expanded space, ran a network connection, watched a few shows, it recorded a few things overnight. Everything seems in order there.
    The problem is that I'm trying to get Telnet access.
    I'm following the Steve Jenkins guide , using his boot CD.
    The problem is that when I get to mounting my partitions (mount /dev/hdc# /mnt#), step 2.9 in his guide...I get the "mount: you must specify the filesystem tpe" message for ALL 3 partitions. I understand that the "inactive partition" isn't supposed to be there yet, but that the other 2 should be.
    Sorry, this has most likely been posted before, but I couldn't find anything...this is my first time attempting any of this...and as for the search here...well...you know...

Can someone please help a brother out?

2. MasterOfPuppets

Jul 12, 2005
    East Hell
    Anybody got any suggestions?

3. Da Goon

Da Goon Registered Abuser

Oct 22, 2006
    First off, the guide and boot cd you are using are quite dated and were written for series 1 tivo's so not all of it applies to your model. That's most likely why you can't mount your tivo drive. You'll need an up-to-date boot cd as well as appropriate tools to complete the upgrade. Dvrupgrade offers a free boot cd you can use, as well as a boot cd for $5 that has all the same tools plus pre-prepared tivo kernels that you will need. I'd recommend the $5 cd.