Noob Question...

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by spatel783, Jan 4, 2006.

1. spatel783

spatel783 New Member

Nov 26, 2005

Advertisements

I'm totally new to tivo so obivously I have some insane questions :)

1. I've connected my Tivo to a phone line and intend to keep it that way for some time. (I don't want to shell out any money for a wireless adapter just yet...I'm a college studen). Is it okay that I use my tivo through my phone line for a long time or is it necessary to switch over?

2. How many times does Tivo need to "dial-in"?
    3. How long does it stay Dialed in for?
    4. I only have one phone line...will the tivo interfere with the phone calls I make or recieve?

Thanks everyone!

2. ZeoTiVo

ZeoTiVo I can't explain

Jan 2, 2004
    all of this is in the manual.

You could use the phone line for the life of the product to no ill effect, you just miss out on all the networking features like HME adn TiVoToGo. But the DVR part will run just fine.

TiVo tends to dial in every other day but I have seen it go every 20 hours as well.
    Typically it dials in late at night.

it does not interfer with the phone line. If someone has the phone in use- TiVo tries again in an hour or so, if the TiVo is doing its thing adn someone picks up the phone, TiVo releases the line right away and will pick up on what the TiVo was doing in an hour or so.

so keep the phone line plugged into the TiVo and forget about it.

3. spatel783

spatel783 New Member

Nov 26, 2005
    Thanks for the quick response!

One last...one is the Tivo dialing in for so often? Just for updated channel list? Does the Tivo need to dial in everytime I record things?

thanks

4. crowfan

crowfan The Dude abides

Dec 27, 2003
    Long Island, NY