No Successful Daily Call for 3 weeks

Discussion in 'TiVo Series 1 - UK' started by freemink, Mar 1, 2009.

1. Mar 1, 2009 #1 of 71
    freemink

freemink New Member

Oct 24, 2004

Advertisements

Hi.

I have just noticed that I haven't had a successful daily call since 5th February. When I try a test call I get message: "Failed. Number unavailable."

Can't think of anything that changed around that time that might have had caused this. I did rearrange the cabling on 13th February, and I enabled Mode0 on 18th February.

1. I have a lifetime subscription.

2. I have a networked Tivo (few years now) so I guess the daily call is made over the network? But there has been a phone cable connected all that time. I've had no daily call problems until now.

3. I can telnet to my tivo. Network seems fine.

4. I tried the test call with and without the phone cable connected to the tivo. I have checked the phone cable and it is working.

5. I changed isp/router November 2008

Any help diagnosing/fixing this problem would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Darrell.

2. Mar 1, 2009 #2 of 71
    Pete77

Pete77 New Member

Aug 1, 2006
    Not Far...
    Type nic_config_tivo at the telnet prompt and the menu options returned then let you see whether your Tivo is getting its data from the network or by a dialup call.

Nobody seems to have reported any issues with the daily call by network lately. The significant problems have all been with dial up of one kind or another.

3. Mar 1, 2009 #3 of 71
    DanielB

DanielB New Member

Sep 7, 2007
    I had an issue with my TiVo not dialing up (over phone) I do have a cachecard, but I use dial-up for daily call, it had not called for about 3 weeks, and was giving messages that it was running out of EPG. I forced a daily call, which seams to have cleared it and it now calls up daily. Hope this helps.

D

4. Mar 2, 2009 #4 of 71
    freemink

freemink New Member

Oct 24, 2004
    Hi,