No Cruising in the UK for South Park

Discussion in 'Now Playing - TV Show Talk' started by Azlen, Jan 20, 2006.

1. Azlen

Azlen Well-Known Member

Nov 24, 2002
    Peoria, AZ

Advertisements

Ok so I am a wannabe headline writer. Anyway...

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/01/19/south_park_axed/

2. busyba

busyba The Funcooker

Feb 5, 2003
    NYC
    Screw Tom Cruise. He doesn't have a legal leg to stand on in this case.

A) Parody and satire are clearly protected (Hustler v. Fallwell)

2) They never say Tom is gay anway, they literally tell him to come out of an actual closet.

3. MickeS

MickeS Active Member

Dec 26, 2002
    What does "having a pop" mean as in "having a pop at Cruise's acting abilities"?

4. busyba

busyba The Funcooker

Feb 5, 2003
    NYC
    Prbably the same as "taking a swipe"

5. KRS

KRS Mmm...invisible cola

Jan 30, 2002
    Franklin, MA

Advertisements

I thought it meant "drinking a soda."

Thank goodness the South Park guys used fake names in the credits for that episode!

6. SparkleMotion

SparkleMotion New Member

Feb 2, 2004
    Alive at...
    Minor correction...it was Falwell v. Hustler (complainant comes first). :)

7. trainman

trainman Nice to see you

Jan 29, 2001
    Sherman...
    Which is probably why we haven't heard anything about Cruise and/or the Church of Scientology threatening Comedy Central over this episode.

The article is referring to the U.K., though, where the laws and court decisions are different (but I don't know how different -- there's quite a history of British parody and satire!).

8. TeeSee

TeeSee Tiiin ROOF. Rusted!

Jan 16, 2003
    Atlanta, GA
    Is it illegal to imply that someone is homosexual? My hair is brown. Can I sue someone if they tell people that it's red? :confused:

9. quarkman97

quarkman97 All mobbed up!

Nov 17, 2002
    Brewcity, WI