Newbie here, quick question re: service

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by theshack1990, Dec 29, 2011.

1. theshack1990

theshack1990 New Member

Dec 29, 2011
    Hi all, i got a Tivo in 2004 and bought the lifetime service. I just recently upgraded to a HD television and now i'm in search of HD Tivo box. Can i transfer my lifetime service? If no, what are my options?

Thanks in advance

2. Vect0r

Vect0r Member

Nov 2, 2010
    If bought in 2004, my guess is a Series 2 DT. No, you can not transfer a lifetime, but you will get a discount for having multiple TiVo's on your account. Last time I looked, it was $100 off the cost of lifetime service on the Premiere. Trust me, time to upgrade :D

3. theshack1990

theshack1990 New Member

Dec 29, 2011
    Ha! yes, i needed to upgrade just was broke and lazy but now it's time.

thanks!

4. lillevig

lillevig Cold in East Iowa

Dec 6, 2010
    Marion, Iowa
    A new lifetime sub will still cost $399 + the cost of a box. If you are still feeling frugal, check out eBay for S3HD boxes with lifetime. Last I looked they were in the $300-$325 range. Then you can upgrade the drive yourself. Keep in mind that to get any digital or HD channels you will need a CableCard. The original S3 requires two cards and the S3HD uses just one M-Card. That may make a difference in your monthly rental cost. Happy shopping.

5. magnus

magnus Tivo User

Nov 12, 2004
    Texas
    Gotta make it call in though... otherwise they won't see the discount.

6. unitron

unitron Well-Known Member

Apr 28, 2006
    semi-coastal NC
    If he bought it in 2004 it's a single tuner model.

7. JimboG

JimboG New Member

May 27, 2007
    San Diego, CA
    This is patently untrue. With a decent over the air antenna he should be able to get the local broadcasters in HD for free.

This won't get you ESPN or Jersey Shore, but depending on your viewing habits it may get you 70-90% of the scripted programming you watch.