New To Tivo - Bolt Humming Sound

Discussion in 'TiVo Bolt DVR/Streamer' started by Thew, Oct 15, 2018.

1. Thew

Thew New Member

Oct 15, 2018
    Hello everyone!
    I am new to Tivo, after dealing with Charter's really crappy boxes for 6 years, never updating their guides or advancing/making things better (aside from the new box available to new users, where a charter tech actually told me he had someone threaten to thrown that new box at him because of all of the issues), I switch to Tivo.

While right now I am happy with the Tivo experience so far, I do have a question. My bolt is only about a week old, is it normal to have a constant humming sound coming from it. It's not super loud, but it's a sound I car hear from about 10ft away, sitting on my couch.

I know it isn't the fan, as i did the "sick a pin/toothpick in there to stop it" and the humming still continued. The only time it stops is when I disconnect the power, but when I plug it back in, the humming sound continues.

I'm well aware that when a hard drive is spinning, it will make a sound. But I have never had a humming sound come from any cable box that I have had prior!

Thanks for you input and help!

2. LarryAtHome

LarryAtHome Active Member

Feb 18, 2008
    Very hard to tell from your description, but some Bolts had an issue of the fan control signal causing the box to make a humming or buzzing noise. Even stopping the fan it still made the noise, but unplugging the fan did stop it. the noise was coming from the fan circuitry and not the fan itself. Not all Bolts have this issue. The hard drive in the Bolt is a 2.5" hard drive, and will make a different but similar noise than 3.5" hard drives. If you are just new to TiVo, call their customer service to have it replaced.

3. Luke M

Luke M Member

Nov 5, 2002