New TiVo purchase - having difficulty figuring out what I need

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Ego, May 11, 2017.

1. Ego

Ego meep!

Nov 7, 2001

Advertisements

Greetings:

I have an ancient history with TiVo, I bought the first TiVos to hit the market many years ago, and was so taken with them I had 4 of them in the same entertainment center rather quickly. I am a nerd by trade, so I of course got into the hacking of TiVos as well, and spent plenty of time in the TiVoCommunity underground.

As time went on I migrated to the old Series2 TiVos for DirecTV. It was a no brainer, they were $99 each at the time, and I scarfed up 4 of them so I could have 8 tuners on a directv setup, it was bliss.

Years went by, then DirecTV got unfriendly with TiVo - I tried to stick with it and tried one of the 'new' HD "TiVos" (not the old 'real' HD directv tivo, I had one of those too before they were phased out). This 'new' HD TiVo lived in my cabinet for a few weeks before being decommissioned. It was clear that DirecTV took over the whole box and it was only a 'tivo' in very limited ways. Moved on and stuck with DirecTV DVRs for about 7-8 years since then.

I am at a crossroads and am debating leaving DirecTV. I currently have one of their 'main' DVRs, and several lesser DVRs all scattered around the house, but they all share the same playlist (each DVR can see all other DVR's recordings), so you can get at the whole house's collection of shows from any room/DVR. This is functionality I'd like to maintain.

So last night, our "central" DVR's hard drive finally died. This covers about 85% of our total recordings being lost, and this has been the only thing "tying" us to DirecTV, we didn't want to lose all our recordings that are stored, and the hassle of trying to migrate. Now that we've got no recordings left, it seems an ideal time to get back to something better. We hate DirecTV's receivers for the most part, so its not an unwelcome change.