new TiVo Premiere - want OTA setup

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Ravenhouse, May 4, 2011.

1. May 4, 2011 #1 of 14
    Ravenhouse

Ravenhouse New Member

May 4, 2011
    Hi All,

I just joined the community so go lightly :)

Before buying my TiVo I had only intended to use it as a DVR, but now that I am browsing these forums I see all this talk about OTA. My quesiton is, if I have Verizon FiOS, can I drop them and simply run a digital antenna outside to pick up OTA waves, for free?

You'll have to excuse my noobishness. While I have no experience with this I am a very technical person, so feel free to explain in detail. I just don't know how this works. I don't watch a whole lot of TV, and certainly don't subscribe to movie channels and such. When I watch TV its mostly always one of the broadcast channels (FOX, ABC, NBC, CBS etc.)

Secondly, and maybe this is a whole 'nother can of worms...can I get a TV signal from my internet connection? I have a fiber optic connection so its pretty fast. Again, major noob here & just do not know how this works.

For reference, this is the TiVo Box I was given as a gift:
    (won't let me post a link due to 1st post, so add amazon dot com to the front of this)
    /gp/product/B0036OR910?t=slickdeals&tag=slickdeals&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

2. May 4, 2011 #2 of 14
    cl8855

cl8855 woot!

Jan 2, 2009
    St. Louis MO
    Many folks (myself included) use their Tivo with OTA signal as their only input.

The picture can be quite good depending on your location and antenna (i just use an inside small one that works for me). The signal is free but you still need the Tivo subscription (or lifetime service) to get the guide data to record from.

I'll let someone else answer the Internet TV to tivo question.

3. May 4, 2011 #3 of 14
    dlfl

dlfl Cranky old novice

Jul 6, 2006
    Dayton OH