New Tivo HD - No Sound with HDMI

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by masonfl, Apr 10, 2009.

1. masonfl

masonfl New Member

Sep 15, 2003

Advertisements

I just set up a new Tivo HD and everything went smoothly including installing the cable card myself...except for one problem. The video looks good but I have no sound. I'm not an expert at home theater set-up so I'm at a bit of a loss on what to do. The HDMI cable is pluggled firmly into the back of the Tivo as is the cable. What else might be causing this problem?

Thx.

2. jrm01

jrm01 New Member

Oct 17, 2003
    Pittsburgh
    You mention that the hdmi is plugged into the TiVo, but you didn't say what the other end is plugged into. Your TV/ An AV Receiver?

If you are using hdmi from tivo directly to the TV you should go into the audio settings under SETTINGS and change the audio to Dolby Digital > PCM.

3. masonfl

masonfl New Member

Sep 15, 2003
    Hmm... Good question. The HDMI plugs directly into the TV. I changed from Dolby to PCM and...still no audio. One challenge is my set-up does not make it easy to see the back of my AV/Receiver so it's possible something is disconnected. If you have any other ideas I'd appreciate it.

4. Chips N Guac

Chips N Guac New Member

Apr 8, 2009
    If this is the case then the sound should be going through your TV.

If you have an AV/Receiver then you are contradicting yourself... You either need to run a separate audio feed from the TiVo to your receiver if thats where you want the sound to come from... or use the speakers on your TV.

I have a similar set up, although I use component instead of HDMI. My video goes from the TiVo to the TV, and then I use an optical cable from the TiVo to the receiver.

5. masonfl

masonfl New Member

Sep 15, 2003

Advertisements

I'm learning...