New Premiere XL Problems

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by pattont, Apr 3, 2010.

1. Apr 3, 2010 #1 of 20
    pattont

pattont New Member

Jan 17, 2006
    Tennessee

Advertisements

I just got my new Tivo Premiere XL last night and I am upgrading from the Series3. I am having two real problems with this unit.

First, it keeps locking up. I will be navigating through the menus and all of the sudden I can keep going up and down through the selections but I can't click anything. I let it sit there for 20+ minutes thinking that the menu would go away and maybe I could start clicking again, but NOPE. It has done this 3 times already in less than 12 hours.

Second, It downloaded the guide last night, yet I can't record anything that starts more than 2 days out. It says no shows found... WTF...

I don't mind the menus being slow because as a software developer I know that people don't always get heard by management when saying things aren't ready. Some people just don't understand the need for testing and performance tuning. I do hope it gets better, but my new investment is making me angry so far.

2. Apr 3, 2010 #2 of 20
    MichaelJHuman

MichaelJHuman New Member

Aug 3, 2005
    Mine has not locked up. You should call support

3. Apr 3, 2010 #3 of 20
    mae

mae member

Dec 10, 2001
    USA
    Are you using a universal or old TiVo remote with an exit key? This bug has been documented. Several of us have fixed it by remapping the exit key to Live TV. If not you may have a bad box.

4. Apr 3, 2010 #4 of 20
    oldnacl

oldnacl New Member

Mar 23, 2007