New Poster Here, so this could be a

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by renkablue, Sep 23, 2007.

1. renkablue

renkablue New Member

Sep 16, 2007

Advertisements

I am new to Tivo boards...purchased on ebay series 2 80 hr . This has probably been posted before...but newbies just don't know how to read and search all the tech stuff. I have even gone internet searching about the Vonage connection and an initial set up for my Tivo when I receive it by Friday 9/28. I have learned that since I have broadband I can try an adapter ethernet connection. I need to know the flow chart of how this is done. TV will be in living area and computer is in a nearby bedroom. My set up is CPU...router...internet modem....linksys Vonage equipment. Vonage has 4 ethernet ports. My cpu has 1 USB port (printer is using that, but I can disconnect and connect the ethernet adapter for the initial set up for TIVO. AM I CORRECT IN MY LOGIC? How do I get the TIVO set up screen to show on TV when I have the TIVO in my bedroom near the CPU? Hard WIRE WHERE OR WHAT?

Help, thanks :) :rolleyes:

2. stevel

stevel Dumb Blond TCF Club

Aug 23, 2000
    Nashua, NH
    You will need to buy a supported USB ethernet adapter that connects to the TiVo; the USB ports on your PC are not touched. Then you would run an ethernet cable between the TiVo and your router. If the router is wireless, then what would work better is to buy the TiVo wireless adapter and plug that into the TiVo. Then you can use wireless network and not have to string a cable.

3. renkablue

renkablue New Member

Sep 16, 2007