New off-air ant. broke even sat. transponders

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by TooMuchTV, Jan 25, 2006.

1. TooMuchTV

TooMuchTV Excitable Member

May 15, 2001
    Glendale, AZ
    I've had a working HD-Tivo with off-air antenna for a while now but I have some multi-path issues and today installed a more directional antenna. My problem is that now I don't get any even transponders on the sats. Sorry in advance to the long post but I'm no expert on multi-switches & diplexers so I'm going to try to describe my entire setup in the hopes that someone can give me a solution.

If I disconnect the new antenna at the antenna then all transponders begin functioning again, so I know that I don't have a problem with the head-end LNB's.

I have:
    - 3 LNB dish with 4 lines run to a powered multiswitch
    - Multiswitch is a Zinwell Sam4803 4x8 (powered)
    - Diplexer between the antenna and dish is Windgard DS8000 "Powered off-air/sat combiner"

Since the installer didn't have a 5x8 I guess he did a double diplexer thing in my wiring closet. One of the 4 wires from the sat is split so the 18v side runs to the in of the switch and the vhf side runs to the vhf side of another diplexer. That diplexer has one of the outputs of the switch run to the sat in side and then that runs to my HD-Tivo where it of course is diplexed again. I know. It's kind of ugly but I actually get great signal strength even with all the diplexers. And it was working fine before I messed with it.

I'm sure that the problem is caused by the new antenna interfering somehow but I don't know enough about how this all works to know how to troubleshoot it correctly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

2. ebonovic

ebonovic has gone his way...

Jul 24, 2001
    Tinley...
    Does that Antenna have a power amplifier? If so, it would mess up the SAT feed in that line.

disconnect the Antenna for now, and see if you get your transponder back.