New Instatcaked HD - All good but phone call

Discussion in 'DirecTV TiVo Powered PVRs & Receivers' started by themadgamer, Jul 22, 2007.

1. themadgamer

themadgamer New Member

Jul 21, 2007
    SE Michigan
    Howdy all!

Great information repository you've got here.

I've got an odd issue that puzzles me. I've searched the forums and I know that I don't need my DTivo to make a phone call to work (I just lose PPV by remote).

My DTivo: Samsung S4040R

History: Started rebooting intermittently a few weeks ago. I did some research and decided to try a new hard drive first. I bought a Segate DB35 80GB and downloaded Instantcake from the dvrupgrade site (no urls, I'm a newb). Burned it to CD and my cake was baked on the new HDD.

I replaced my existing 40GB drive in my Samsung DTivo with the newly imaged 80GB drive and fired her up.

Performed the guided set up and viola! Everything went as expected, found both satellite feeds, locals appeared the next day, double storage capacity. Woohoo!

In reviewing the System Information, I noticed that it hadn't called out. Tried to connect to DVR update, adjust phone settings and area codes, played with different prefixes to slow things down, but nothing works. It fails to dial every time. It failed to let me get a dial up list, the diagnostic phone test and the DVR Service connection.

Each time the failure message was the same: Failed. Could not connect. (at the dialing step)

I don't remember this being an issue on the other drive so I reinstalled the original drive. It successfully completed all of the steps mentioned above.

Summary:

Samsung S4040R - Still intermittent reboots with either drive
    Original HDD successfully uses modem to call in
    New HDD does everything except use the modem to call in

Both of them have version 6.2a of the software. Original HDD from DTV, new HDD from InstantCake. both placed in the same Samsung DTivo with the same phone line and jack, one works and one doesn't.