Need advice: should I get a cable card?

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by Rockmoore802, Jan 1, 2006.

1. Jan 1, 2006 #1 of 10
    Rockmoore802

Rockmoore802 New Member

Jan 1, 2006
    8 Miles...

Advertisements

I'm new to tivo and for now I have a basic setup using a cable box. I want the ability to record one channel while watching another.

I'm waiting to accept delivery of a new Plasma screen T.V. It has multiple antenna inputs and will work with a cable card.

I would like to keep my cable box and get a cable card. Is this the best way to do this or can someone offer me a better choice.

I'm also hooking up a DVD recorder.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advanced!

Rocky :)

2. Jan 1, 2006 #2 of 10
    litzdog911

litzdog911 TechKnow Guide

Oct 18, 2002
    Mill Creek,...
    Yes, a CableCard in your TV will allow you to watch Live TV while your Tivo records different channels with its own cable box.

What are you wanting to do with the DVD Recorder? Do you want to record programs from the Tivo? If so, you'll need to route Tivo outputs to your DVD Recorder. If your TV has enough inputs, you can connect the DVD Recorder to its own inputs on the TV.

3. Jan 1, 2006 #3 of 10
    Andru1313

Andru1313 New Member

Dec 29, 2003
    Philadelphia...
    Does your cable company offer any features with there service. I live in Philly and have comcast, they offer On Demand and Pay per view. With the cable card I would loose those features....

4. Jan 1, 2006 #4 of 10
    Rockmoore802

Rockmoore802 New Member

Jan 1, 2006
    8 Miles...
    First off thanks for the replies.

To answer the last question first; I have expanded basic on a digital box and don't subscribe to on demand. I hardly purchase pay per view. If I do I can just get it through the actual cable box instead of the card. So yes! you do loose those features.