Need adivce too many options MKV to Tivo..

Discussion in 'TiVo Premiere DVRs' started by alton987, Aug 30, 2011.

1. alton987

alton987 New Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Looks like I have a couple of options for what I want to do.

What is the best app to monitor a folder for MKV files, automatically add meta data, remux them to .mp4 and auto push them to my Tivo?

It seems like pyTivo is the best just want to make sure, I am a noob

2. Charles R

Charles R Well-Known Member

Nov 9, 2000
    USA
    In a lot of cases TiVo will play the naive MKV files... transfer or stream them and you are good to go.

3. aadam101

aadam101 Tell me a joke

Jul 14, 2002
    Massachusetts
    I've never seen Tivo play a MKV file on it's own.

I use PyTivo.

4. Iluvatar

Iluvatar New Member

Jul 22, 2006
    If you primarily will be remuxing mkv files (that have h264 video) to play on the TiVo start with the lucasnz fork of pyTivo it has more features that are oriented towards remuxing such as allowing incompatible audio (such as DTS) to be transcoded. It works great, I can have an MKV with DTS audio transferred to the TiVo within 5-10 minutes. The main pyTivo code would require a full transcode of the file if the audio is not compatible. You can follow the normal pyTivo installation instructions from here.

After that you should look at the pyTivo Video Manager which would allow you to push your files directly from the TiVo instead of having to go to the computer to do it. Handy.

This takes care of 2 of your 4. Check the pyTivo forums for other addons to help.

5. Charles R

Nov 9, 2000
    USA
    Try MakeMKV... TiVo will play your DVD (native video and audio) within 10 minutes or so. Not so much for Blu-rays.

6. alton987

alton987 New Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Thanks that makes since I have been playing with pyTivo but did not get the whole fork thing. What about metadata is there any automatic tools? I found a tool where I can search for it and add it manually.

7. innocentfreak