My Tivo just became much less compelling to me

Discussion in 'TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion' started by westside_guy, Dec 4, 2011.

1. Dec 4, 2011 #1 of 77
    westside_guy

westside_guy Annoyingly ephemeral

Mar 13, 2005
    The soggy...
    I've been using my Tivo HD for several years to watch Netflix and streaming content from my own library of ripped DVDs, in addition to recording TV of course. Well, we just replaced our living room TV with a new LG LW5600, and frankly it does a much better job handling things like Netflix and our own streaming media than the Tivo did (the Plex client works great!). We're basically back to where we started a decade ago - using the Tivo simply as a DVR.

I've been a Tivo customer quite a while; but I'm beginning to think this HD may be my last Tivo. Cable DVRs have improved significantly, at least from what I hear from my friends that own them. I know I'm likely to get some "don't let the door hit you on the way out" responses - but I'm curious to hear what people think Tivo is really offering anymore that isn't available from pretty much everything else the TV is connected to. Is there still room for Tivo's premium pricing in a market that seems to be moving towards commoditization?

Addendum: Looking at a few replies, it's apparent I need to clarify - the LW5600 is an LG "smart" television, not some add-on box.

2. Dec 4, 2011 #2 of 77
    jcthorne

jcthorne Well-Known Member

Jan 28, 2002
    Houston
    From my thinking, since tivo is still the only viable DVR option for OTA, and it does handle streaming and home media (perhaps not the best but it does fine) it remains as the only single point solution for ALL media presented under a single consistant interface for the entire home. So yes, its a niche product, but still the only one that combines all required features for our home. Any other way uses multiple boxes, multiple interfaces and each tv works different. Too big of a step down from what we have now.