My Tivo doesn't do Kickstart 58? (10 TB Roamio)

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by MisterWho, Nov 18, 2019.

1. MisterWho

MisterWho Member

Oct 7, 2007
    Is it possible my tivo cannot do a KS 58? I have been chugging along with a 3 TB Roamio for many years now. This drive was self-upgraded (I just popped it into the tivo and let it do its thing). I recently tried to copy this drive to a 10 TB drive (chronicled here DIY 10TB Roamio).

Now, after leaving it for this past week, today it is failing at the loading stage when making a service connection. I see on the forums where many people have had a similar problem that apparently is fixed by a KS 58. Well, as I detail in the other thread, my box does not seem to do a KS 58. The code appears to be accepted by the box (amber and green flashing lights after entering 5-8 and screen indicating message about installing an update) but the box sits at this screen for hours upon hours never progressing. The longest I left it to sit was over 12 hours and nothing happened prompting me to pull the plug. I cannot find anyone else who seems to have a box that does not do the kickstart code. Can anyone out there help? I hate that while others have encountered the failing connections after an upgrade, they were able to rectify with the KS 58 while I cannot.

2. Petermn2

Petermn2 New Member

Mar 26, 2009