My successful 540040 upgrade experience

Discussion in 'TiVo Upgrade Center' started by rick123, Feb 5, 2005.

1. Feb 5, 2005 #1 of 53
    rick123

rick123 Member

Dec 8, 2004
    I thought other new owners of the 540040 (and other 540 series) might find this helpful...

I am new to Tivo as of Christmas, and of course am already a big fan. Even before we bought the Tivo, I knew from my online reading that I would upgrade the hard drive when I had the time and felt I had a good grasp of the procedure. I have built our last 3 computer systems, so I felt comfortable with the idea of working with hard drives and their mobo connections. IMO prior computer upgrade experience is not required, but if you don't have it you should spend a good amount of time reviewing the hardware hookup procedures.

After reading thru the several guides out there, I decided on using the instructions found at tivo.upgrade-instructions.com. That particular site makes it easy to choose between several upgrade options and customizes instructions based on the choices made.

From what I had read here and around the net the easiest upgrade to do today is to just upgrade to a bigger drive. Why bother to eek out an extra 40gb from the original drive when there are 2-300gb drives to be had for short money? Plus, no extra brackets required and you keep the original drive as a backup so you don't need to make a separate backup either. Anyway, my upgrade was to replace the original Tivo 40gb drive with a Seagate 200gb/8mb cache/7200 rpm HD. I chose to copy the entire contents of the Tivo HD (all my recorded programs) cause I don't like live tv anymore if Tivo can keep me away from it!

(3/22/05 - Since this thread seems to be getting many reads, wanted to ad that I suggest you hook up your tivo and get it running prior to doing an upgrade to ensure your unit works. I also highly recommend that you allow your unit to get the 7.1 (tivotogo) software upgrade PRIOR to doing the upgrade.)

How it went: