MOCA Setup

Discussion in 'TiVo Help Center' started by tome10, Feb 1, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Feb 1, 2017 #1 of 18
    tome10

tome10 New Member

Jan 8, 2011
    I have a Bolt in the Master Bedroom, and a Mini in the Livingroom. I have Actiontec Bonded MOCA 2.0 at the Router location in the office, and another in the Livingroom feeding a Hub. I have a POE filter in place. The Bolt is wired directly to coax with the MOCA enabled. The Mini doesn't seem to speak MOCA, so I've been using the Ethernet connection out of the Hub, but it keeps timing out and disconnecting from the Bolt. So, what's up with the Mini? I tested the Network at the Hub, and 170Mb down, and 20Mb up, so it's at least that fast LAN-wise. But, why can't I get the Mini running on MOCA? I get a NO2 error unable to connect to DHCP server to obtain a network address. What am I doing wrong?

2. Feb 1, 2017 #2 of 18
    mdavej

mdavej Well-Known Member

Aug 13, 2015
    In the LR, coming from the wall, run the coax to a splitter - one leg to the Moca adapter, the other to the Mini. Don't use the coax out from the Moca adapter. The TV port does not pass Moca.

krkaufman likes this.
  3. Feb 1, 2017 #3 of 18
    tome10

tome10 New Member

Jan 8, 2011
    lol I just figured that out before reading your reply. Strong work identifying the problem though.

mdavej likes this.
  4. Sep 4, 2019 #4 of 18
    bote110

bote110 New Member

Sep 4, 2019